Ru En

New Artifacts

New Artifacts
Artists: Ivan Egelskii
Dates: October 29 — November 29, 2015
Venue: Gallery 21

The future has changed and is becoming closer than before. What seemed to be fantasy just yesterday is already reality today. The scale and speed of these changes is making a world religion out of science, building new technologies in reality. The evolution of art in the light of current changes is not as obvious: Will art follow the path of resistance to a radical analog state or will it dissolve into digitized and alienated information flows?

The „New Artifacts” of Ivan Egelskii offers a view not just of contemporary art, where a miraculous image from a mystical concept is transformed without our noticing into a concept of the ordinary and trite, but rather it is a view from the future into our own civilization.

The number of copies of sacred scriptures, for example the Bible, in binary code indeed exceeds the publication of physical copies of the most popular books on the planet. However, it is enough to interrupt the transmission of the „locks” and „keys” of the information century to one generation, and the entire huge digital system will be converted into pieces of useless rectangular glass on which it is convenient to scribble, into smashing monitors on which it will no longer be possible to display anything, and into the binary codes that no one will be able to decipher, so the moral-ethical regulators will also no longer be able to function, leaving humanity in the loneliness of an illusory world.

Ivan Egelskii, in his work on canvas, is shifting the accent from the result of a work of art to the process itself of creating the work of art, where the deceptive miraculousness of technology is becoming more important than the nature of what has been created. The new laws of formation are becoming more sure by the indicators of the Digital Revolution that is reigning in the 21st century, which, in falsifying reality, is simplifying access to the illusion, erasing the boundary between what is desired and what is possible.

The tablet, as a node of our civilization, is a voluntary entrance into the Matrix, an object of desire and a meaningful tool of modern humanity, is proving to be only a „magic mirror” whose surface is so easy to shatter. The disaster of the ordinary modern person is turning into a time shift—colored cracks in the monitor draw the eye to its picturesque beauty, while in actuality they are the absolute dominant technology.

The collision and the displacement of the divine and the technical into indistinguishability is that boundary beyond which there remains room only for the myths of future generations. Indeed, what kinds of artifacts of our time will the people of the future see? Will they recognize them? Or time will screen out the context and functional logic, and only the pure esthetics of our time will remain to the viewer.

Ru En
Другие выставки:

Новые артефакты

Новые артефакты
Период проведения: 29 октября — 29 ноября 2015 г.
Место проведения: Галерея 21

Будущее изменилось и становится ближе, чем раньше. То, что казалось еще вчера фантастическим, сегодня уже реальность. Масштаб и скорость этих изменений делает науку мировой религией, выстраивающей новые технологии бытия. Эволюция искусства в свете текущих изменений не так очевидна: пойдёт ли оно по пути сопротивления радикальной аналоговости или растворится в оцифрованных и отчуждённых потоках информации?

«Новые артефакты» Ивана Егельского представляют взгляд не только на современное искусство, где нерукотворный образ из мистического понятия незаметно для нас превращается в понятие обыденно-прикладное, но скорее это взгляд из будущего на нашу цивилизацию.

Количество копий Священных фолиантов, например Библии, в двоичном коде точно превышает тираж физических экземпляров самых популярных книг на планете. Однако, достаточно прервать передачу «замков» и «ключей» информационного века на одно поколение, и вся огромная цифровая система превратится в куски бесполезного прямоугольного стекла, по которому удобно царапать, в разбитые мониторы, на которых уже невозможно ничего воспроизвести, в двоичные коды, которые никто не сможет расшифровать, а значит и нравственно-этические регуляторы больше не способны функционировать, оставляя человека в одиночестве иллюзорного мира.

Иван Егельский в своих работах на холсте смещает акцент с результата творчества на сам процесс создания произведения искусства, где обманчивая нерукотворность технологии становится важнее природы содержимого. Новые законы формообразования становятся уверенным показателем Цифровой революции, царствующей в XXI веке, которая, фальсифицируя реальность, упрощает доступ в иллюзию, стирая грань между желаемым и возможным.

Планшет, как узел нашей цивилизации – добровольный вход в Матрицу, объект вожделения и знаковый инструмент современного человека, на проверку оказывается лишь «волшебным зеркальцем», чью поверхность так легко разбить. Катастрофа современного обывателя оборачивается сдвигом во времени – цветные трещины монитора притягивают взгляд своей живописной красотой, по сути, являясь абсолютной доминантой технологии.

Столкновение, смешение до неотличимости божественного и технического — та грань, за которой остается место только для мифов будущих поколений. Какими же артефакты нашего времени увидит человек из будущего? Опознает ли он их? Или время отсеет контекст и функциональную логику, и зрителю останется только чистая эстетика нашего времени.